flywheel/bellhousing questions

rjleiker

Amateur Racer
Sep 24, 2008
Derby, KS
I guess I'm looking at it logically...

Most older cars, like A bodies I guess, I think, ran a 621 bellhousnig... I think...

and since the 606 is basically the same thing, with just a relocated fork ball stud... then "logically" for example, a 75 Corvette clutch and flywheel listed for the smaller bell and flywheel should fit just fine...

I believe that most of the clutch components are pretty much just your basic GM stuff, nothing special... so this stuff should fit... but I'm still a beginner at all this, so I could be wrong...

IF you guys get the urge to look into it and hopefully reaffirm this theory, it wuold be greatly appreciated... I just rummaged through the Autozone website through vehicle specific stuff and found these matching pieces for a 75 Corvette with a 350... As far as their basic descriptions, a flywheel listed for a 10.4 disc should be the 153 tooth and the clutch listed under a 10.4" should be the same designation and should match up...

I'm just running a standard 1st Gen SBC, 2-piece rear seal... Just a basic GM setup, should work...

I'm planning on buying these parts probably Saturday, so I guess I'll find out tomorrow...
Hopefully someone will give me some encouragng insight...
This logical thinking thing sometimes works, but sometimes it doesn't...

85_SS

Dragway Regular
Aug 13, 2004
www.cardomain.com
I agree with your logic, and it should work, but I don't want to tell you to go ahead and get it beacuse I am not certain. Is there any reason you are opposed to getting a flywheel and clutch assembly for a 78-80 A-body?

For example, I am using an 84-92 F-body bellhousing, and have a flywheel/clutch assembly/throwout bearing to match. I'm sure other parts will work, but why play guinea pig on yourself :)