Converting the Slow-wagon to t-56

MISFITmalibu63

MalibuRacing Junkie
Feb 21, 2004
The Sticks... Tewksbury MA
well, i decided that im going to swap the 200-4r out of the wagon and change over to a t-56. i have probably read about 10 hours worth of information regarding swaps and parts to use. I already have the John Bzdel pedal. the rest i'll get from a donor car or most likely, craigslist. I apologize in advance, this is my first stick conversion. actually, its my first time working on a manual transmission \:D/

What parts should i replace or upgrade while doing this swap?
with a 2 piece rear gen 1 sbc i should be able to get by with the stock flywheel from an LT1?
what clutch is recommended for my power levels?

heres what my motor made for power in the previous owners car

i know i will need a new crossmember and driveshaft, and i also came across this website, as an alternative to getting the conversion box

i think that covers the start of it, hopefully it goes as smooth as it looks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Doober

Jun 2, 2003
Catalina, AZ
www.cardomain.com

I'm not sure how hard some of those parts are to find, but they do sell an adapter plate that allows use of an older style bellhousing with the T56 case, so you could run a hydraulic t/o bearing, or use the stock G-Body bellhousing/clutch linkage with a clutch disc that fits the input shaft, and pressure plate of choice. The LT1 flywheel won't fit a 2pc rms, and I'm not 100% sure the LT1 flywheel is required with the stock T56 clutch fork/hydraulics. If you want to just use the stock T56 bellhousing I'm pretty sure you could still use a hydraulic t/o... there may also be clearance issues with the stock bellhousing/clutch slave setup but I'm not 100% sure.
Or you might get lucky and stumble on an aftermarket T56

t5montecarlo

MalibuRacing Junkie
Oct 21, 2007
Lederach, PA
garage-scene.com