First time on spray I had to lift @ 1000'

BillySS

Frequent Racer
Dec 13, 2009
Matawan,NJ
I'm no expert on anything but I'm no dummy either. I only sprayed the car once for the first time this past sunday with 150. It was totally shocking and caught me off guard how fast the rpm's shot up. I always ran just motor til sunday. Anyway...I left my rev limiter @ 6700. It ran 11.14 @ 114 coasting through the traps after I let off. I have 3.90 gears with 28" MT ET DRs. I had to let off at 1000' cause I was on the rev limiter already. I normal run mid 11's on motor going through the traps @ 5800rpm. On motor I need more rear gear, but on nitrous I was way over what I expected the rpms to be.
What do you guys think the final rpm would be If I ran it til the end on spray? I dont have a high winding motor but I dont have crap internals either. I'm not looking to blew it up. ](*,)

grizwald

Top Fueler
Feb 21, 2008
Ontario, Canada
i think it's time to up the rev limiter and give 'er! probably not the same...but in case it helps....i was worried to run my car past 6000 rpm, so i was letting off (holding it to 6,000 rpm) around the 1000' mark as well. i eventuall got sick of that and just kept in it. the car goes through the traps at around 6200-6300. i'm not spraying it or anything, so i'm sure there's a bit of a difference. i'd guess that you'd be crossing around 7,000 rpm.

BillySS

Frequent Racer
Dec 13, 2009
Matawan,NJ
I have and Eagle 4340 nitrided crank, SRP Pistons and Eagle I beam rods (the weakpoint). I'm not to comfortable spinning it to 7000-7200. But hey I shift it at 6500 constantly, it might be fine. so I might go back Sunday and try it again for the last time this year. Raise the limiter to What??

sbmalibu

Frequent Racer
Oct 5, 2009
north judson indiana