wheelbase vs wheelie bar length

ILLEGAL REGAL

MalibuRacing Junkie
Jan 1, 2005
Tinley Park,IL
whats the best way to decide what length bar to use? Doing a little research and from what I can see is 60"-85" unsprung. But how does wheelbase come into play with deciding length?
for something of a stock suspended outlaw 10.5 car

10secBu

MalibuRacing Junkie
May 21, 2003
Westminster, MD
I'm no expert on ths subject at all, but have been looking into wheelie bars myself.

From what I have seen WB length isn't as much related to wheelbase as it is how quick the car is and how hard it can hit the WB's.

If you look around, the really quick cars tend to have quite long WB's. I'm told this is so they are more flexible and offer a softer hit when the car comes up on the bars. This helps to keep them from blowing the tires off when the bars hit.

If and when I do bars, they'll either be the 60" versions from Bickel, Quartermax, Autofab, or the S&W's (which are 54"). All of which are solid bars except for the S&W's which are spring loaded. I know several cars in this area which run similar times to mine and they all seem to work quite well with the S&W's.

EDIT: I'm thinking of taking the approach similar to NHRA Stock & S/S in which the WB's are set fairly high to simply keep the car off the bumper, yet the front end come up for proper weight transfer on the small tires. In my situation I don't need any bars in the summer as the air quality kills enough power the front end won't come up very high. it's the spring and fall that bumper draggers become a concern.

ILLEGAL REGAL

MalibuRacing Junkie
Jan 1, 2005
Tinley Park,IL
it's very interesting reading..
from what I gather the longer the bar the softer it hits and has a less likely chance of unloading the tires. It's all in the leverage I suppose. I also hear that wheelbase has a part in what length you'd want to use. I just can't seem to find enough info about them.. kinda a gray area