Upgrading Braks

dinosport

Daily Driver
Jul 21, 2015
Upgrading brakes. I have a 78 malibu. I have the spindles and calipers for the front s10 brake upgrade and i have the backing plates and calipiers for the rear disk conversion. My question really is does anybody have this combo and how did it workout? Will I need to upgrade the master in any way. There are a few postings of manual brake conversions but i assume there running set ups were the engine isnt making enough vacuum anyway.
Any info would be helpful and appreciated. I would like to do it right the first time. Thanks

LS6 Tommy

MalibuRacing Junkie
May 15, 2004
North Jersey
I have no experience with the S10 conversion, but you will need a disc/disc master cylinder and combo valve.

Tommy

1981Regal

Dragway Regular
Mar 10, 2008
Cincinnati, Ohio

Last edited by a moderator:

dinosport

Daily Driver
Jul 21, 2015
Thanks guys. I did see that thread about the s10 upgrade. I haven't seen a thread though we're the guy had both
S10 up front and ls1 rear.
If I need a master and possible per portioning valve or whatever, does anybody know what master they used, or how well or bad it worked with the factory master?
Thanks again I appreciate it. Right now the car is at paint. I can't wait to get it back and I'll snap some pics to post.

axisg

Frequent Racer
May 13, 2008
YYZ ( Toronto )
I run both Blazer front and LS1 rears ( I am likely in the gbf thread as well ). Some may argue but I have been running the setup for quite some time now ( 5 years or so ). And put on at least 40 thousand kms since the swap. I never did get around to swapping the prop valve, MC or even hooking up the parking brake LOL. No ill effects that I have noticed thus far.